Red Zinger Tea & Toddy.

Just the recipe HERE

The girlchild and I were reminiscing about our favourite tea the other day.

Red Zinger.

It was a funky blend of sticks and leaves but the main ingredient was hibiscus. OOOOOH we love us some hibiscus! The tea was sweet without needing sugar, good hot AND cold, and very, very red tasting. (If you know, you know) One used to be able to get it a Superstore, they had their own brand (this should have been my first clue! ) but I haven’t seen it years and years. Inspired by our conversation, I hit up the old Google and what I found made me laugh and laugh and laugh.

Superstore doesn’t make it anymore but fricking Celestial Seasonings sure does! This whole time I was looking for the no name brand when I could have had the original!

This brain…I tell ya…

Making up for lost time, I bought a case!

It was delicious, exactly as I remembered. I’m grateful because I have a lot of it, ha ha.

I’m thinking it would make an excellent Red Hot Toddy. Oh! With my favourite bourbon!

Let’s give that a go:

Red Zinger Hot Toddy

  • Mug of Celestial Seasonings Red Zinger Tea
  • Honey, to taste.
  • Red Stag Black Cherry Bourbon by Jim Beam, to taste. I used half an ounce because it was 10 am when I worked this up, heh. Half an ounce is probably plenty anyway.
  • Squeeze of lemon.

Stir, stir. Sip. Sip.

The verdict: Gooooooood! Dangerously good, like candy. I’ve found hot toddies to be a great comfort when I’m ill but they always taste so strong and medicinal. This is not like that at all and I am here for it!

Do you have a favourite tea? Tell me all about it!

You can find this tea online at a variety of sources, including here >Red Zinger Tea<

Cheers and thanks for reading!

Leave a comment